Last week, Governor Charlie Baker signed a landmark bill establishing a paid family and medical leave program for Massachusetts workers and gradually increasing the state minimum wage to $15.00 per hour. Described as a “grand bargain,” the bill reflects a compromise between legislators, labor and community groups, and business groups, and is intended to keep proposed ballot questions concerning paid leave, minimum wage, and a sales tax reduction off the November 2018 ballot.… More
Tag Archives: Massachusetts minimum wage law
A reminder for Massachusetts employers: effective January 1, 2017, the minimum wage in Massachusetts is increasing from $10.00 to $11.00 per hour.
The minimum rate for tipped service employees is also increasing, from $3.35 to $3.75 per hour. This “service rate” only applies to workers who provide services to customers and regularly receive more than $20 in tips per month. Additionally, their average hourly tips plus the minimum service rate must equal or exceed the $11.00 per hour minimum wage. … More
Nothing says summer like an unpaid internship. It’s a chance for a college student or new entrant to the job market get a foot in the door, learn about a company and gain (hopefully) valuable experience. For employers, an unpaid internship is a great way to bring in extra help at little-to-no cost at a time when many regular employees want to hit the beach. It also helps employers to identify and evaluate potential future hires in the real-world work environment.… More